YMCA OF GREATER OKLAHOMA CITY

PROGRAMS
AT THE Y

 

Cancer is a life-changing disease that takes a tremendous physical and emotional toll on those affected. Medical studies show that moderate levels of exercise can help cancer survivors physically and mentally, increasing their overall quality of life. LIVESTRONG® AT THE YMCA is a FREE 12-week YMCA-funded program for adult cancer survivors. Our program is about saying goodbye to being a patient and saying hello to being a healthy, whole person again.

The Y's goal is to support survivors through a program that provides them with a positive way to learn how to increase their physical activity. The small group, physical activity program utilizes a private, non-intimidating circuit style that helps participants.
 

In addition to physical benefits, the program also focuses on the emotional well-being of survivors and their families by providing a supportive community where people impacted by cancer can connect during treatment and beyond. By focusing on the whole person and not the disease, LIVESTRONG® AT THE YMCA helps people move beyond cancer in spirit, mind and body.

The program consists of one 12-week program that meets two times per week for 75 minutes each day. Through participation in these sessions, individuals will build muscle mass and muscle strength, increase flexibility and endurance, and improve functional ability. YMCA fitness instructors work with each participant to fit the program to their individual needs. The instructors are trained in the elements of cancer, post rehab exercise and supportive cancer care. The program is conducted outside of medical facilities to emphasize that LIVESTRONG® AT THE YMCA is about health, not disease.

 

 

 

AVAILABLE SESSIONS

 

CHICKASHA AREA YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Feb. 11 - April 30, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

FALL CLASS 2020

Aug. 11 - Oct. 29, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

Contact Corbin Lee, clee@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 224 2282

 

EARLYWINE PARK YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Jan. 28 - April 16, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

SUMMER CLASS 2020

May 26 - Aug. 13, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

FALL CLASS 2020

Sept. 15 - Dec. 3, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

Contact Charles Butler, cbutler@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 378 0420

 

EDWARD L. GAYLORD DOWNTOWN YMCA 

Contact: Sara Robinson-Holmes, srobinson-holmes@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 297 7700

 

MIDWEST CITY YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Feb. 3 - April 16, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

 

SUMMER CLASS 2020

May 28 - Aug. 18, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

 

Contact Autumn Bennett, abennett@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 290 5055

 

MITCH PARK YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Jan. 7 - March 26, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

 

FALL CLASS 2020

Aug. 25 - Nov. 12, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

 

Contact: Lori Love, llove@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 348 9622

 

NORTH SIDE YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Jan. 21 - April 9, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

FALL CLASS 2020

Aug. 25 - Nov. 12, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

Contact Kim Schmidt, kschmidt@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 751 6363

 

RANKIN YMCA 

SPRING CLASS 2020

April 28 - July 16, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

 

Contact: Lori Love, llove@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 348 9622

 

ROCKWELL PLAZA YMCA 

WINTER CLASS 2020

Feb. 11 - May 7, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 12:30 - 2:00 p.m.

 

FALL CLASS 2020

Sept. 8 - Dec. 10, 2020

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 12:30 - 2:00 p.m.

 

Contact: Kristen DeYoung, kdeyoung@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 621 5858

 

YMCA HEALTHY LIVING CENTER - INTEGRIS

WINTER CLASS 2020

January 13 - April 6, 2020

Mondays & Wednesdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

SPRING CLASS 2020

April 13 - July 8, 2020

Mondays & Wednesdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

SUMMER CLASS 2020

August 3 - October 28, 2020

Mondays & Wednesdays, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

 

Contact: Tyler Johnston, tjohnston@ymcaokc.org

P: 405 942 9622

 

All LIVESTRONG® at the YMCA cancer survivors who graduate from the program will receive a 
FREE 12 MONTH ADULT MEMBERSHIP to continue their health journey.